Last chance to enter nominations for historic Hartlepool title


NOMINATIONS are still being taken for the title of Honorary Freeman/Freewoman of Hartlepool.

Hartlepool Borough Council is seeking nominations for either individuals or organisations to be granted the historic title. The Honorary Freeman/Freewoman title is the highest honour that a council can bestow and in the last 40 years, it has only been awarded on 18 occasions.

The last recipients in 2010 were former Hartlepool MP Lord Mandelson, Sky Sports presenter Jeff Stelling, cancer fundraiser Isobel Wilson and Hartlepool Families First founder Wendy McLoughlin.

Others who have received the prestigious accolade include former Town Clerk Eric Waggott, former Hartlepool MP Ted Leadbitter and the Hartlepool Lifeboat Station.

Hartlepool’s Ceremonial Mayor Councillor Stephen Akers-Belcher, who chairs the Civic Honours Committee, said: “Following previous publicity, we’ve received several nominations but there’s still time for people to recommend either individuals or organisations who they feel are worthy of the title.

“I think it’s very important for the town to acknowledge those who render eminent service to our town and as it is over three years since the Council last granted the historic title, I think the timing is right to seek nominations once again from the public.

“There are many individuals and organisations who serve our town with pride and distinction and are worthy of consideration for this historic title.”

Nominations must be submitted in writing with supporting evidence to Dave Stubbs, Chief Executive, Hartlepool Borough Council, Civic Centre, Hartlepool. TS24 8AY. Alternatively, email

The closing date for nominations is Friday, October 18. The council’s Civic Honours Committee will then meet to consider the nominations before making recommendations to a meeting of the Full Council.

For further information, telephone (01429) 523013.