What is halal meat?

MUSLIMS are only allowed to eat halal meat according to Islamic law.

Meat which is halal prepared must involve an animal being slaughtered in a specific way.

The animal has its throat cut in one swift incision and the blood is then left to completely drain.

Muslim followers cannot eat animals that have not been slaughtered by the Islamic method or animals that were dead prior to the slaughtering.

The animal must also be slaughtered in the name of Allah.

Under Islamic dietary guidelines, Muslims cannot eat pork or by-products of pork, blood or blood by-products or carnivorous mammals and birds of prey.

The Muslim holy book, the Koran states all animals should be treated with respect and the halal method is said to slaughter the animal in a way that limits its suffering and pain.