Assisting Dying Bill defeated: How did your MP vote?

editorial image

Right-to-die laws have been overwhelmingly rejected by MPs in the first parliamentary vote on the highly contentious issue for nearly 20 years.

Some 330 MPs from across the Commons opposed the Assisted Dying Bill, while just 118 backed the proposals, which would have allowed some terminally ill adults to ask for medical help to end their life.

MPs were given a free vote on the ethically-fraught issue, which broke across party lines as those on both sides of the Commons gave heartfelt speeches including many personal anecdotes.

Anti-euthanasia campaigners said the result was an unequivocal rejection of a “dangerous” piece of legislation, but supporters of reform insisted it showed that MPs were “ridiculously out of touch” with the public.

Tory votes were the overwhelming block in the 330 MPs who voted down the Assisted Dying Bill.

On a free vote, 210 Conservatives marched into the No lobby against Labour MP Rob Marris’ plans.

They were joined by 91 Labour MPs as well as 11 from the Scottish National Party (SNP), eight DUP, three Liberal Democrat, three SDLP, one UUP, one Ukip and one Independent.

Mr Marris won support from a total of 71 Labour colleagues, as well as 27 Conservative MPs, 14 SNP MPs, three Liberal Democrats and Green MP Caroline Lucas.

How North East MPs voted:

No to the bill

Stephen Hepburn (Jarrow)

Alan Campbell (Tynemouth)

Julie Elliott (Sunderland Central)

Sharon Hodgson (Washington and Sunderland West)

Catherine McKinnell (Newcastle North)

Emma Lewell-Buck (South Shields)

Bridget Phillipson (Houghton and Sunderland South)

Pat Glass (Durham North West)

Mary Glindon (North Tyneside)

Grahame Morris (Easington)

Yes votes

Iain Wright (Hartlepool)

Phil Wilson (Sedgedfield)

Nick Brown (Newcastle East)

Guy Opperman (Hexham)