BEST OF HEALTH AWARDS: A life-saving team

The theatre team
The theatre team

SAVING people’s lives – and making their future much more bearable – is the job of a hospital theatre team.

And the department at the University Hospital of Hartlepool does such a good job, it has been nominated for a Best of Health award.

A grateful member of the public contacted the Hartlepool Mail to say: “I have had a hip replacement and my gall bladder removed. I can not thank the surgeons and all the staff enough for their professionalism and care,”

It was a nomination which brought delight from the perioperative services manager at the trust Kath Martin.

She said: “I am delighted that the team have been nominated for this award in recognition of their hard work.”

Theatres are there to provide a service for patients undergoing a wide range of surgical procedures. The staff treat patients not only from the North Tees and Hartlepool area, but much further afield, said Kath.

The theatre section of the hospital becomes the latest in a massive list of worthy nominations for this awards.

But people wanting to put forward their own favourites are urged to do so soon.

It could not be easier for people to nominate their favourites from all sections of the health system.

Fill in the form HERE

Entries will be taken in the following categories:

GP of the Year;

GP Practice of the Year;

Dentist of the Year;

Nurse of the Year;

Team of the Year;

Optometrist of the Year;

Pharmacist of the Year;

Carer of the Year;

Midwife of the Year;

Receptionist of the Year;

Long Term Achievement;

Health Care Apprentice/Student.

Judges want evidence of how nominated teams and individuals have consistently delivered high quality patient-centred services or examples of demonstrating an excellent attitude towards patients in the Hartlepool area.

The nomination forms are also available in reception areas, waiting rooms and other general areas.

Send your completed forms to Lynn Wild, Echo House, Sunderland, SR4 9ER. The deadline for entries is Monday, May 6. Nominations can be made by members of the public or colleagues.