BEST OF HEALTH AWARDS: Nominate your hero

Alan Foster
Alan Foster

A HEALTH chief has told of his delight at backing a Hartlepool Mail awards for a fourth consecutive year.

As the entries continue to pour in for the Best of Health Awards, Alan Foster described the event as a chance to reward people who do something amazingly special.

The North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust is one of five sponsors and trust chief executive Mr Foster said: “Every day someone is touched by the care and compassion of our staff and, as a sponsor once again, we are pleased to give Hartlepool Mail readers the opportunity to say a very public thank you for the care they have received.

“While we have many ways of recognising and rewarding our staff we are pleased the Hartlepool Mail Best of Health awards exist because they are yet another way that people can show their thanks and appreciation to our staff for the difference they have made to their lives.”

This year, the awards are being backed by NHS Hartlepool, the North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, IntraHealth, Seneca Homes, and the Cleveland Fire Support Network.

Mr Foster said a number of the Trust’s staff have been nominated over the last three years. He added: “We would very much encourage Hartlepool Mail readers to nominate those staff in our trust who have provided excellent care to them or their loved ones for this year’s awards.”

Numerous entries have now been submitted for the awards and the public is already nominating their favourite GP practices for an award.

But it’s not just GPs who can get the recognition they deserve. It could not be easier for people to nominate their health heroes from all sections of the health system..

All you have to do is fill in the form HERE.

Entries will be taken in the following categories:

l GP of the Year;

l GP Practice of the Year;

l Dentist of the Year;

l Nurse of the Year;

l Team of the Year;

l Optometrist of the Year;

l Pharmacist of the Year;

l Carer of the Year;

l Midwife of the Year;

l Receptionist of the Year;

l Long Term Achievement;

l Health Care Apprentice/Student.

In all categories, judges will be looking for evidence of how nominated teams and individuals have consistently delivered high quality patient-centred services and/or examples of demonstrating an excellent attitude towards patients in the Hartlepool area.

The nomination forms will also be made available in reception areas, waiting rooms and other general areas over the next few weeks.

Send your completed forms to Lynn Wild, Echo House, Sunderland, SR4 9ER.

The deadline for entries is Monday, May 6, and nominations can be made by members of the public or colleagues.