Valley may be a city

THE Tees Valley area is one of 20 in the UK invited to bid for city status.

Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg announced Government plans to hand more local authorities, including Tees Valley, wider spending powers – as long as they submit successful bids.

They could be exempt from meeting strict diktats from Whitehall as part of plans to give some councils the right to spend tax revenues collected by companies based in their area.

But Mr Clegg warned the successful councils they can no longer rely on Government handouts for major infrastructure projects.

The 20 towns, cities and regions which will be allowed to bid to take part in the scheme are the Tees Valley, Black Country; Bournemouth; Brighton and Hove; Cambridge; Coventry and Warwickshire; Hull and Humber; Ipswich; Leicester and Leicestershire; Milton Keynes; Norwich; Oxford; Reading; Plymouth; Preston and Lancashire; Southampton and Portsmouth; Southend; Stoke and Staffordshire; Sunderland and the North East; Swindon and Wiltshire.

l It’s your vote: Page 9