Pools fans are second in League Two’s table of shame

Victoria Park, home of Hartlepool United
Victoria Park, home of Hartlepool United

Hartlepool United have the second highest number of banning orders against supporters in the whole of League Two.

Statistics released by the Home Office show that a total of eight Pools supporters were subjected to banning orders in 2014/15.

It means that there are now 24 bans against United fans, the same number as Shrewsbury Town.

But Luton Town top the league of shame in the division, with 27 banning orders against fans currently in place.

Pools’ fellow North East club Newcastle United have the most orders against their fans, with 132 currently in place.

The number of football banning orders in England and Wales has actually fallen for the fourth year in a row.

There were a total of 2,181 active banning orders in England and Wales between September 4, 2014, and September 8, 2015.

It is down four per cent from the 2,273 active orders in 2013-14.

A total of 484 new banning orders were issued in 2014-15.In 2014-15 there were 1,873 football-related arrests; a decrease of 18 per cent from the previous season.

There has been a steady decrease in football-related arrests over the last five football seasons with the exception of the 2012 to 2013 season, which increased by four per cent from the previous season.

The number of banning orders does not represent the number of individuals with banning orders as an individual can be subject to more than one banning order, although in general one banning order translates to one individual.

A spokesman for Hartlepool United said: “We want to make sure that Victoria Park is a safe and enjoyable environment for all Hartlepool United supporters and we don’t tolerate anti-social behaviour of any kind.”

“The figures show that we will look to take action against any offenders to ensure that all fans can enjoy a positive experience whenever they visit The Vic.”


1. Luton Town 27 (1)

2. Hartlepool United 24 (8)

3. Shrewsbury Town 24 (0)

4. Plymouth Argyle 20 (7)

5. Portsmouth 15 (9)

6. Dagenham & Redbridge 14 (0)

7. Oxford United 14 (0)

8. Mansfield Town 9 (6)

9. York City 8 (0)

10. Bury 7 (1)

11. Carlisle United 6 (1)

12. Exeter City 6 (0)

13. Newport County 6 (2)

14. Tranmere Rovers 6 (3)

15. AFC Wimbledon 4 (2)

16. Cambridge United 4 (3)

17. Northampton Town 3 (3)

18. Southend United 3 (0)

19. Morecambe 2 (1)

20. Stevenage 1 (0)

21. Wycombe Wanderers 1 (0)

22.Accrington Stanley 0 (0)

23. Burton Albion 0 (0)

24. Cheltenham Town 0 (0)

(The first figure for each club is the total of current banning orders against a club’s supporters, the figure in brackets is the number issued in 2014-15.)