students shine at awards night

HERE are some of the deserving winners who had their contribution and hard work recognised at a school’s awards evening.

Pupils, parents and staff all came together as St Hild’s C of E Secondary School in Hartlepool held its annual awards ceremony.

Anna Breward.

Anna Breward.

From curriculum awards to gongs for motivation, determination and strength of character, hundreds of students were brought onto stage and hailed for their efforts over the course of the past year.

Proud headteacher Colin Reid said every single student at the school deserved recognition for their achievements in the last 12 months.

All of the winning students were invited on stage to collect their award from guest of honour, the Olympic swimmer Chris Cook.

Former student Jack Wood put a tough year behind him as he was handed the Dirickx Award, recognising strength of character and the Philip North Award for fortitude.

Aaron Hann.

Aaron Hann.

Jack was moments away from having his leg amputated after been hit by a taxi in a freak accident as he walked to school in March this year.

But he battled back, and even managed to recover in time for his school prom.

Klaudia Robinson, who underwent surgery to remove a cancerous tumour two years ago, was hailed as a positive role model as she was handed the Tony Metcalfe Award.

Oliver Murphy was also celebrating after he won the Headteacher’s Award, presented for commitment to learning.

Hollie Cadwallender.

Hollie Cadwallender.

Sportsman Aiden Lamb won the Mike Gough Sports Award, recognising excellence in PE.

Hollie Cadwallender won an award for her outstanding commitment to extra-curricular dance activities while Ashleigh Lister’s dedication was recognised twice as she was awarded The Bishop of Jarrow Award for bringing credit to the school and was one of the winners of the Chris Simmons Award for her involvement with democracy in school.

Mr Reid added: “It was great to see a full hall packed with our students, parents, carers and invited guests.”

l FOR more pictures and a full list of all award winners on the night, log on to