East Durham’s unsung heroes honoured at the Sport and Physical Activity Awards 2013

editorial image

UNSUNG sporting heroes were honoured during an annual awards ceremony.

East Durham sportsmen and women young and old were rewarded for their dedication during the Sport and Physical Activity Awards 2013.

It recognised the achievements of local sports clubs, coaches, volunteers and schools.

The awards were organised by Durham County Council and County Durham Sport and involves a series of local awards followed by a county-wide final.

The ceremony for the Easington area, which took place at the Glebe Centre, Murton, was the first to be held in County Durham.

The Sedgefield awards were due to take place at Spennymoor Leisure Centre on Friday, September 20, between 7pm and 11pm.

Winners from each of the local awards events will go forward to the final county-wide event which will be held in October.

The list of winners:

Young volunteer of the year: Martin Green;

Volunteer of the year: David Scott;

Young coach of the year: Kieran Taylor;

Coach of the year: Stuart Clarke;

Young sporting achievement of the year: Megan Atkinson;

Sporting achievement of the year: Anthony Hardy;

Junior sports club of the year: Peterlee Pumas;

Sports club of the year: East Durham Basketball Club;

Primary school contribution to PE and school sport: The Ribbon, Murton;

Secondary school contribution to PE and school sport: Dene Community;

Physical activity achievement of the year: Amanda Adamson;

Contribution to physical activity: East Durham Belles;

Contribution to sport: Graeme Wetherell.