Hartlepool school governor wins national recognition

Jackie Murray, back, right, with head Jo Heaton and school pupils.
Jackie Murray, back, right, with head Jo Heaton and school pupils.

A school governor has become the first in Hartlepool to be recognised nationally for her work at two of the town’s primary schools.

Jackie Murray, who is chair of the governors at both St Peter’s Elwick Church of England Primary School and Hart Primary School, has been appointed as a National Leader of Governance.

She will now guide and mentor other school governors to help them improve their own schools.

Jackie, who has been working to improve schools for 15 years, said: “I am so passionate about education and driven by the prospect of helping to ensure that our young people fulfil their potential.

“I am really pleased to be given the opportunity to pass on my knowledge and experience to other chairs of governors striving for excellence within their own schools.”

The two Hartlepool schools work as a federation under one headteacher, Jo Heaton, who said: “This appointment is well deserved.

“She has only been chair of governors since February, but I believe that our rapid recent improvement has been achievable due to her involvement.

“She is fantastic to work with and we are all so proud of Jackie.”

The accolade has been awarded by the National College of Teaching and Leadership and is a credit to Jackie’s proven track record and excellent leadership skills.

Mark Patton, Hartlepool Council’s assistant director for education, learning and skills, said: ““It is great to have an experienced governor of Jackie’s calibre working in the town as we strive to ensure that by 2016 every school in Hartlepool will be providing a good or excellent standard of education.

“I would like to congratulate her on her appointment as an NLG.”

Jackie, from Durham, is a member of four governing bodies and was named Regional Governor of the Year in 2007 for her work at two other schools. She is also a vice-chairman of the Board of Education for the Durham and Newcastle Diocese and chair of various committees.