Hartlepool Sports Awards: Actor-turned triathlete Matt Turnbull is Sports Personality of Year

Iron man Matt Turnbull is Hartlepool's Sports Personality of the Year.

Tuesday, 17th October 2017, 9:41 pm
Updated Tuesday, 12th December 2017, 12:00 am
Hartlepool Sports Personality of the Year: Matt Turnbull

The ultra-fit 39-year-old triathlete scooped the top prize at the revived Hartlepool Sports Council Awards ceremony at Seaton Carew.

Turnbull, an actor-turned-athlete, follows in the footsteps of some of the town's greatest sporting names like Amanda Coulson, Bob Close, John and George Feeney, Michael Gough, Mal Hughes, Michael Hunter, Paul Jennings, Lindsay Johnson, Jemma Lowe, Savannah Marshall and Graeme Storm in taking this accolade.

The teacher, a married dad of two, said: "I've just had a quick look at the names engraved on the trophy and I'm absolutely awe-struck.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

"I've had accolades in my sport over the last few years, racing for GB, national, European and world level.

"But it's a wonderful feeling tonight to be here and be recognised by my own town.

"For the Hartlepool Sports Council to think that I've done something special feels fantastic."

Hartlepool Under 8 football side were named the Outstanding Team of the Year.

Hartlepool Youth Athletics Club received the Outstanding Club of the Year prize.

The prestigious Services to Sport prize went to former Hartlepool Sixth Form student Caitie Smith for her work with students at the Brinkburn site.Rugby player turned runner Andrew Lilley collected the Coach of the Year trophy for his work in local athletics.

The Keith Hewitson Award, presented to a volunteer in a non-coaching role went to Anthony Coates for his work for Hartlepool & District Motor Club.

Hartlepool Sports Council's awards evening returned to the sporting calendar for the first time since 2014.

One of the most popular items of the ceremony at the Seaton Carew Sports and Social Club are the Rising Star winners.

These feature the stars of tomorrow and the winners followed double Olympic swimmer Lowe and ex-world boxing champ Marshall as previous winners.

Eight sports were represented at Hornby Park: Finlay Barlow (Badminton)Sonny Sweeting (Kick Boxing)Scott Temple (Athletics)Josh Bearby (Karate)Mollie Cooper (Karate)Joe Cope (Table Tennis)Lauren Serginson (Football)Ellis Taylor (Football)Nicole Johnson (Rugby)Codie Bates (Rugby)Danielle Marshall (Boxing)