Hartlepool youngsters honoured at town awards

Hartlepool's outstanding young citizens have been recognised in the town's annual '˜The Future's Bright, The Future's Young People Awards'.

Saturday, 19th March 2016, 12:44 pm
Updated Saturday, 19th March 2016, 12:46 pm
The winners at the awards.

Organised by Hartlepool Youth Council and supported by Hartlepool Borough Council’s Standards, Engagement and Development Team, the accolades recognise the exceptional achievements of townspeople aged 7-19 and those aged 7-25 who have additional needs.

The winners were chosen by a panel including members of the Hartlepool Youth Council from over 40 nominations submitted by organisations, schools and parents.

The awards – trophies and certificates - were presented at an evening ceremony in the Borough Hall on the Headland featuring actor Kieron Richardson of TV drama ‘Hollyoaks’.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The categories and winners were:

l Courage – James Dean and Sophie Hughes.

l Young Person’s Champion – Hartlepool Youth Council, Hollie Marshall and Charlie Murphy.

l Back on Track – Scott Simpson.

l Entertainment – musical group Sparkle.

l Fundraising – Matthew Childs.

l Outstanding Contribution to Youth Work – Shannon Holliday.

l Academic Achievement – Matthew McDonnell.

l Sporting Success – Katie Cooper.

l Volunteering in the Community – Shaun Lawson.

l Project of the Year – Hartlepool Holocaust Memorial Group.

l Recognition of Commitment to Apprenticeship Placement – Hollie Lowery.

A Special Recognition Award was presented to Councillor Chris Simmons, chair of Hartlepool Council’s Children’s Services Policy Committee in recognition ofhis work to help and support young people.

Coun Simmons – who presented some of the awards during the evening – said: “I am always impressed by the many achievements of the young people in our town, especially the outstanding work of the Youth Council.

“Young people are often demonised in the media for being lazy or not doing the things some people think they should be doing, but our young people make us very proud through the amazing things they do and the contribution they make to local democracy. My warmest congratulations go to all the winners and nominees – to receive an award myself was wonderful and I am tremendously touched.”