First entry in health awards

Faye Garthwaite and Peter O'Donnell the Seneca site at Mainsforth Terrace
Faye Garthwaite and Peter O'Donnell the Seneca site at Mainsforth Terrace

THE first entry has arrived in our search to find the unsung heroes in our health system.

Within hours of the launch, a Hartlepool doctor had been nominated for the excellent service he provides and we will be revealing more details of that caring health professional in the coming days.

But the search for more goes on compassionate and caring health workers and there’s plenty of time for you to honour that doctor, nurse, midwife, dentist, optometrist or even team of people who have made a difference to your life.

To do so, just fill in the nomination form HERE

Meanwhile, a second of this year’s sponsors has spoken of their pride at being involved.

Town building firm Seneca Homes builds inspiring and quality affordable homes throughout the Tees and Durham areas.

Bosses urged people to enter this year’s competition and make sure the nominees get the praise they deserve,

Sales co-ordinator Fay Garthwaite, from Seneca Homes, said: “We are proud to sponsor the Best of Health Awards. We acknowledge that there are so many unsung heroes in our health service who we or our family members will have turned to or needed at some point in our lives.

“We at Seneca Homes strongly believe as a company in exceptional customer care and we take pride in our product and the communities we build.”

This year, the awards are being backed by NHS Hartlepool, the North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust, IntraHealth, Seneca Homes, and the Cleveland Fire Support Network.

It could not be easier for people to nominate their health heroes.

All you have to do is fill in the above form and send it to us, or go online at and you’ll find the entry form there as well. Just follow the Best of Health awards link.

Entries will be taken in the following categories:

l GP of the Year;

l GP Practice of the Year;

l Dentist of the Year;

l Nurse of the Year;

l Team of the Year;

l Optometrist of the Year;

l Pharmacist of the Year;

l Carer of the Year;

l Midwife of the Year;

l Receptionist of the Year;

l Long Term Achievement;

l Health Care Apprentice/Student.

In all categories, judges will be looking for evidence of how nominated teams and individuals have consistently delivered high quality patient-centred services and/or examples of demonstrating an excellent attitude towards patients in the Hartlepool area.

The nomination forms will also be made available in reception areas, waiting rooms and other general areas over the next few weeks.

Send your completed forms to Lynn Wild, Echo House, Sunderland, SR4 9ER.

The deadline for entries is Monday, May 6, and nominations can be made by members of the public or colleagues.