Here are the teams Middlesbrough could face in the Carabao Cup second round

The road to Wembley is underway, but who could be standing in the way of Middlesbrough in the second round of the Carabao Cup?

Wednesday, 15th August 2018, 10:06 am
Updated Wednesday, 15th August 2018, 10:13 am
Who could Middlesbrough face next in the Carabao Cup?

Tony Pulis' men progressed through the first round of the competition courtesy of a penalty victory over Notts County - and they could now be rewarded with a glamour tie.

In a first round which saw plenty of goals, gasps and giant-killings, Middlesbrough were one of 37 teams to make it through to the next round.

But who will they face next? With the draw just a day away, there are some big ties on the horizon.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

There will be no seeding in the second round draw, meaning that Boro face an open draw for their next opponents.

Ties against big Premier League teams are a possibility with all top flights side - except those playing in Europe - set to enter the competition.

Everton, Newcastle United, Leicester City and West Ham could all be opponents as they enter the fray in the second round.

Premier League big guns Manchester United, Liverpool, Arsenal and others enter the Carabao Cup at the third round stage.

The draw for the second round will be made on Thursday, August 16 at 7pm - just before Sunderland take on Sheffield Wednesday in the final tie of the first round.

Here’s the full list of teams that Middlesbrough could face in the second round of the competition:

Premier League clubs: Everton, Leicester City, Newcastle United, Crystal Palace, Bournemouth, West Ham, Watford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Huddersfield, Southampton, Cardiff City, Fulham, Wolves

Championship clubs: Swansea, Stoke, Nottingham Forest, Blackburn Rovers, Leeds United, Middlesbrough, Derby County, Preston North End, Rotherham United, Hull City, Millwall, Norwich City, QPR, Brentford, Aston Villa, Reading, West Brom

League One clubs: Blackpool, Fleetwood Town, Rochdale, Doncaster Rovers, Burton Albion, Walsall, Plymouth Argyle, Bristol Rovers, Oxford United, AFC Wimbledon, Wycombe Wanderers

League Two clubs: Macclesfield Town, Mansfield Town, Lincoln City, Newport County, Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, MK Dons, Forest Green Rovers

Ties to be played on Thursday: Sunderland OR Sheffield Wednesday