Hopefuls set to contest Seaton by-election

SIX candidates are set to battle it out in a by-election later this month.

The seat is up for grabs in the Seaton ward on Hartlepool Borough Council after independent councillor Mike Turner decided to step down.

The by-election will be held on Thursday, October 25 and in total six candidates have put their names forward.

The nomination process closed at the end of last week.

The three main parties on Hartlepool Council, Labour, Conservatives and Putting Hartlepool First have all fielded candidates.

Meanwhile, the UK Independence Party and Liberal Democrat groups are also fielding a candidate and there is one independent.

The six candidates contesting the by-election are:

Kelly Atkinson, Putting Hartlepool First.

Tom Hind, UK Independence Party (UKIP).

Ann Marshall, Labour.

Shane Moore, Conservatives.

Jim Tighe, Liberal Democrat.

David Young, independent.

Hartlepool Council is currently made up of 33 councillors across 11 wards after a re-structure earlier this year.

The other councillors for the Seaton Ward are independent councillors Cath Hill and Paul Thompson.

Polling cards have been sent out to residents living in the Seaton ward ahead of the by-election which is being held just three weeks before the mayoral referendum and police commissioner election on November 15.

The seat has become available after Coun Turner, 59, handed in his notice due to increasing caring responsibilities for his parents.

Civic leaders had previously praised the contribution made by Coun Turner, who was re-elected for four years at the all-out election May following the boundary restructure.

He was vice-chairman of the council’s audit committee and a member of regeneration and planning services scrutiny and north and coastal neighbourhood forums.

Born in Sheffield, he was elected to represent the Seaton Ward in 1999 after previously representing the Rift House ward.

For further information call the council’s election team on (01429) 523088.