Performing arts academy celebrates success

editorial image

A performing arts academy has marked its second birthday by rewarding its hard-working students with trophies.

The MTA academy, in Park Road, Hartlepool, is run by Toni Parker-Harvey.

It held its second presentation evening at the Belle Vue Social Club in Belle Vue Way and the event was a sellout with more than 300 students and their families attending.

Toni said: “The presentation night was a celebration of MTA’s talent and also to recognise hard work and achievements over the past 12 months.”

Performances were given by everyone from the academy’s beginner vocal students to adult singers. There was also a performance by MTA’s girl band Sparkle who reached the grand final of the Teen Star UK competition, as well as from the MTA junior performing arts class.

Toni added: “There were 57 awards given from most promising beginner awards to specialist examination awards.

It’s an amazing feeling standing on the stage and seeing proud students, parents and their families, that’s what it’s about

Toni Parker-Harvey

“There were also two full scholarships given one for our performing arts class and one for one to one lessons. Both winners will receive free lessons for a year.”

Toni told of her delight at the academy’s progress and said: “Every student has worked so hard over the past year and with the school growing and expanding so much in 12 months the decisions for award winners were even more difficult than last year.

“I am so proud of every single MTA student, and our aim was to make each student feel special and praise their hard work. Each student received a progress certificate and MTA plaque.

“It’s an amazing feeling standing on the stage and seeing proud students, parents and their families, that’s 
what it’s about.”

The winners were Lois Watt, Anais Dodd, Eve Parker, Molly Wearing, Millie Jones and Hollie Shackleton.

The winners also included Megan Dougherty, Poppy Leonard, Kitty Skilbeck, Lennon Conning, Mia Henderson, Poppy Watt, Charlie Edwards, Tia-May Daniels, Ava McPartlin, Campbell Daniels, Jack JJ Bentham, Holly Bentham and Beth Branfoot.

Winners trophies were also given to Jack Blakemore, Eden Mason, Lottie Willis, Lily Gowland, Parker Croft, Amelia Nixon, Kitty Skilbeck, Katie Coombs, Sienna Smith, Yasmine Lahney, Vaughan Kelly, Nina Bunter, Max Penfold, Francesca Hall, Megan Wainwright, Erin Gallagher Smith, Grace Owens and Niamh McAleavy.

Trophies also went to Sienna Sanderson, Holly Parker, Lucy Eastick, Amelia Ryan-Galal, Mae Collier, Rebecca Smith, Charlie Wainwright, Jasmin Nichol, Rose Pennick, Poppy Edwards, Ellen Gowland, Lily Cadwallender, Sparkle, Sarah-Jayne Conning, Lily Turner, Abbie McMorris and Danielle Parker.