Phil Wilson re-elected to serve Sedgefield in General Election

Labour MP for Sedgefield Phil Wilson.
Labour MP for Sedgefield Phil Wilson.

Labour's Phil Wilson has been re-elected to serve the Sedgefield constituency.

The area, which was the constituency of former prime minister Tony Blair, saw 22,202 people vote for Mr Wilson.

In second place was the Conservative Dehenna Davis who polled 16,143 votes.

Third was UKIP's John Grant on 1,763, fourth was Liberal Democrat Stephen Psallidas on 797 and fifth was Melissa Wilson of the Green Party on 686.