Conservatives claim Hartlepool by-election win

Mike Young
Mike Young

The Conservatives have successfully held on to a seat on Hartlepool Borough Council in a by-election.

Mike Young was victorious in the battle for the Rural West ward seat left vacant by the departure of Ray Martin-Wells.

Coun Young secured 678 votes with Independent candidate James Brewer coming second with 546.

Labour's Yousuf Khan came third with 184 and Michael Holt for the Green Party got 87.

Turnout for the by-election was just 25.32%.

Rural West is also represented by Conservative councillors Brenda Loynes and George Morris.

It means the political make up of Hartlepool Borough Council remains unchanged with 19 Labour councillors, five Independent Group members, four Putting Hartlepool First, three Conservative and two Independent.