Schools honoured in county sport awards

Winners of the County Durham Sport Awards
Winners of the County Durham Sport Awards

SHINING stars of sport have been honoured.

Dene Community School, in Peterlee, and Easington Colliery Primary School were winners in the County Durham Sport Awards.

Dene’s PE department won the Secondary Contribution to PE and Sport Secondary Schools award, while Easington were triumphant in the primary section.

After beating off competition from other Durham districts, the schools won through to the finals at a glittering awards bash held at Ramside Hall in Durham and hosted by Rugby World Cup winner Katy Mclean MBE.

Over the last year Dene has had many notable sporting achievements on all levels, from the Year 7 boy’s basketball team being crowned district champions, to the cheerleaders winning the British Cheerleading Associations Regional. The school secured funding to develop a new, creative and engaging curriculum, helping to engage boys in parkour activities and girls in gymnastics and cheerleading plus outdoor and adventurous activities. Ashley Rack, Dene’s head of PE, said: “I am extremely proud of the PE department and the commitment the staff show towards delivering inclusive extra-curricular opportunities across all levels in various sports and for the quality of teaching the PE department provides.”

Sport is at the heart of Easington Colliery Primary School for children of all ages and abilities. They have created a specialist sensory room to stimulate and support special needs children.

The primary link teacher and the school’s sports coach have increased links with sports clubs and Easington Schools Sports Partnership. They also identified and delivered an extra PE lesson every week for groups of children with motor difficulties and for those gifted/talented in sport. The school has also enhanced its athletics facilities.

Other winners included Sedgefield’s Adam Woods, (Coach of the Year), Sedgefield Cricket Club chair David Iceton (Volunteer of the Year), and Sedgefield Harriers (Sports Club of the Year).