Shortlist revealed for Hartlepool Mail Sports Awards

editorial image

A CHOSEN few remain in the running for the titles in this year’s Hartlepool Mail Sports Awards.

The judges have chosen the shortlist for this year’s competition and there’s not long to wait for this elite field to find out whether they have gone all the way and won a trophy.

The finals will be held this Wednesday at the Hardwick Hall Hotel in Sedgefield and it promises to be a great evening with lots of deserved people picking up honours for their successes in the sporting arena and behind the scenes.

Judges described the selection process as immensely hard and that was because of the fantastic field of entrants.

As well as stars who compete at international level, we had equally impressive entries from people who have spent decades in giving their commitment to the sport of their choice at a local level.

One judge said: “It was almost impossible to choose because the standard we got this year was so high.

“The people who did not make it on to the shortlist would have been just as worthy winners as those who are still in contention. All in all, it should make for a great finals and we thank everyone who has taken part.”

Make sure you follow the Hartlepool Mail for full coverage of the awards. We will be following the awards with a team of reporters, photographers and digital specialists there.

Watch out for coverage on the night through Twitter and here on our website. We will also bring you a full report of the events in the Hartlepool Mail this Thursday.

And make sure you continue to buy the Mail to get your pullout supplement with more photographs, interviews and reaction from all of the winners in the days to come.

In the meantime, here is the full list of all the entrants who made it on to the shortlist.

Roll of honour

•Team/Club of the Year.

Hartlepool Youth under-13.

Norton and Stockton Ancients Ladies.

Hartlepool Hawks Academy.

Horden Rugby Club.

•Sportsperson Special

Achievement Award.

Steve Bell.

David Lowes.

Michael Williams.

•Disabled Sports Person Award.

Luke Twizell.

David Cranson.

Megan Atkinson.

•Sports Official/Referee Award.

David Lowes.

Owen Easson.

Craig Gilbraith.

•Coach of the Year Award.

Cheryl Laycock.

Rebecca Taylor.

Chris Hyndman.

•Unsung Hero Award.

Harry Wake.

Bobby Sweeting.

William Scott Lithgo.

•Volunteer/Young Leader Award.

John Spence.

Jessica Coates.

Kaitlyn Crowther.

•Lifetime Achievement Award.

Freddie Potter.

John Grange.

Edgar Atkinson.

•Sports Personality of the Year Award.

Savannah Marshall.

John Grange.

Graeme Storm.

Jemma Lowe.

•Young Sports Personality of the Year.

Lewis Dolan.

Ryan Foreman.

Bethan Kelly.

Adam Cope.

•Inspire Award.

Lorraine Harrison.

Kaitlyn Crowther.

Amanda Coulson.