SPORTS AWARDS: Seaton Carew Cricket Club are all-conquering

editorial image

CRICKETING teenagers have bagged a string of titles - but there’s one more that they would love to win.

The members of the all-conquering Seaton Carew Cricket Club under-17 section have enjoyed “unprecedented” success in the last two years.

They won the NYACC League (North), the Bill Chester Cup and the NYACC playoff final, effectively becoming county champions.

The success has continued this year, with the team winning the Hartlepool District Sports Council award as Team of the Year.

The same group of players has already won the North Yorkshire & South Durham Cup, and the NYSD League (North) with a 100 percent record.

Joint manager Mick Johnson said: “In all, over the past year, the team have won five trophies.”

Mick added: “I admit I am biased, I was their manager last year, and co-manage the team this year with Gareth Spence.”

But he would love to see the rising young talents lift yet another title at the Hartlepool Mail Sports Award finals.

They become the latest in a long line of excellent entries to this year’s competition but we want more people and teams to enter.

But the search for more entries continues and people have until September 13 to put forward their favourites in the Hartlepool sporting world.

Whether it’s grass roots stars to those excelling at an international level, we want to include them all.

There are 13 categories in this year’s competition:

l Team of the Year;

l Sportsperson Special Achievement Award;

l Disabled Sports Person Award;

l Disabled Team of the Year;

l Contribution to Disability Sports Award;

l Sports Official/Referee Award;

l Coach of the Year Award;

l Unsung Hero Award or Volunteer/Young Leader Award;

l Club of the Year Award;

l Lifetime Achievement Award;

l Sports Personality of the Year Award;

l Young Sports Personality of the Year Award;

l Inspire Award.

To nominate a person or group, fill in the form on this page or visit the Hartlepool Mail website at and click on the link to the awards.