Awards for sporty school pupils

English Martyrs School sports awards winners
English Martyrs School sports awards winners

COMMITMENT and excellence were rewarded when top young sport performers took part in an awards ceremony.

English Martyrs School and Sixth Form College held their second Sports Celebration evening to mark the efforts and achievements of the 350+ pupils who have taken part in the wide range of extra-curricular lessons throughout the past academic year.

The 18 awards were presented by Hartlepool boxer Amanda Coulson, who had the phrases “dedication, commitment and attending every training session” constantly ringing in her ears.

All of the 21 winners epitomised those words.

The school has also enjoyed a massively successful year on track, field, pitch and pool.

Such success often involves netball, and this year’s been no different.

Both the U16 and U19 sides went through to the National finals, while all school years but one were town champions.

Oaksway’s Hollie Linighan, Year 10, won the netball award, while Sarah Ferry, also of the Hartlepool club, won the inaugural sixth form netball trophy.

A combined total of 13 trophies were won by the boys and girls football teams.

In the boys category Kieran Laking had his name inscribed onto the award.

Kieran has coached juniors, attended all training sessions and even, at times, captained the all-dominating Year 11 side that won the town league and cup, as well as scooping the tag as the town’s team of the year.

Mollie Lambert, of Year 9, won the girls award for her contribution in all forms of the game.

All individual awards were for outstanding contribution to the performer’s sport and with 12 school records broken in athletics this year and several first-places, the award for athletics was arguably the most hotly-contested award. Yet Lauren Howell’s “phenomenal success” and dedication to training earned the Year 8 the accolade.

Year 9 Luke Alderson and Year 8 Jake Linighan were respective winners of the badminton and cricket awards.

Jakob Filipiak, Year 9, was merited with the basketball trophy following his involvement in the school’s U14s Cleveland County championship winning basketball side.

Hockey-mad Year 10 Rebecca Twist, who also represents Hartlepool Caledonians, had her name etched onto the hockey trophy.

Pip Jarvis, Year 9, was described as the “queen of rounders”, thus making her a worthy recipient of the rounders crown.

Year 11 Kieran Brown, a county runner, won the cross-country award, and all-rounder Year 9 Kieran Robertson collected the swimming award due to his outstanding willingness to learn, assist and perform to a high standard.

U13 Town Tennis doubles champion Jacob Clyburn won the tennis plaque before Harry Powell won the rugby award after being a part of the Year 7 rugby side that reached the semi-finals of the County Cup.

Harry was also selected for Durham County trials.

In trampolining Elizabeth Cooper, Year 8, pipped 60 other trampolinists to the award.

Blessed with talent, Elizabeth also bounces for Hartlepool Trampoline Club.

The three biggest awards of the night, however, saw departing Year 11s take a clean sweep.

The PE department has overseen scores of young leaders with students taking extra-curricular and primary schools lessons.

Four committed Year 11s, though, went that step further with their leadership qualities after a year-long involvement in the school’s 2012 Olympics activies.

Amy Cowan, Rachel Masshedar, Harrison Smith and Kieran Laking were the 2012 leaders who won the leadership accolade.

Caitlin Bates is a “very well respected pupil” who has a “great rapport and relationship” with the PE staff. Caitlin has faced huge challenges in the past year but remained committed to her sport, meaning she was a deserving winner of the Achievement in the Face of Adversity award.

The 5 year Commitment to EMS Sport trophy was awarded to Collette Larkin after her participation in a host of sports during her school career.

Collette had performed in rounders, tennis, basketball, netball, hockey, cross-country, tennis and football during five, dedicated, successful years of sport at the school to cap off an evening of achievements.