The 168 players from Watford, Nottingham Forest, Stoke City, Middlesbrough and other Championship clubs who will be out of contract this summer

Middlesbrough are already assessing their transfer targets for next season – with manager Neil Warnock keen to address several key areas.

Monday, 19th April 2021, 1:33 pm
Barnsley midfielder Alex Mowatt.

Boro’s main priority ahead of the next campaign is to sign a new striker, while the Teessiders will also be looking for a new first-choice goalkeeper and potentially a couple of wide players.

With finances tight throughout the EFL, clubs will be searching the free agent market, with several players set to see their current contracts expire in the coming months.

Boro also have five players, Britt Assombalonga, Ashley Fletcher, Marvin Johnson, Nathaniel Mendez-Laing and Jordan Archer, who are set to become free agents at the end of this season.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Alex Mowatt, Victor Adeboyejo.

Other players such as Yannick Bolasie, Neeskens Kebano and Marcus Bettinelli are nearing the end of their loan deals.

We’ve taken a closer look at each club competing in the Championship for the 2020/21 season and the players whose futures remain uncertain.

Jon Toral (option for a further year), Alen Halilovic, Caolan Boyd-Munce, Josh Dacres-Cogley, Steve Seddon.
Ryan Nyambe (option for a further year), Joe Rothwell, Joe Rankin-Costello, Amari'i Bell, Lewis Holtby, Bradley Johnson, Elliott Bennett, Corry Evans, Stewart Downing.
Emiliano Marcondes, Henrik Dalsgaard, Luke Daniels.
Steve Cook, Adam Smith, Jack Wilshere, Asmir Begovic, Junior Stanislas.
Andreas Weimann, Famara Diédhiou, Nathan Baker, Jamie Paterson, Jack Hunt, Henri Lansbury, Adrian Mariappa, Tommy Rowe, Danny Simpson, Marley Watkins, Hakeeb Adelakun, Liam Walsh, Rene Gilmartin.
Joe Bennett, Junior Hoilett, Sol Bamba.
Dominic Hyam (option for a further year), Liam Kelly, Kyle McFadzean, Maxime Biamou, Jordan Shipley, Amadou Bakayoko, Jodi Jones, Jordon Thompson (club option one year), Josh Eccles.
Martyn Waghorn, Andre Wisdom, Curtis Davies, Emmanuel Idem.
Isaac Mbenza, Juninho Bacuna (club option one year), Alex Pritchard (club option one year), Christopher Schindler (club option one year), Yaya Sanogo, Oumar Niasse, Fraizer Campbell (option for a further year), Jaden Brown (club option one year), Richard Stearman, Richard Keogh, Tommy Elphick (club option one year), Alex Vallejo (club option one year), Romoney Crichlow, Demeaco Duhaney, Jayson Leutwiler.
Sonny Bradley, Pelly-Ruddock Mpanzu (option for a further year), Matty Pearson, James Collins, Luke Berry (option for a further year), Dan Potts, Ryan Tunnicliffe, Kazenga LuaLua, George Moncur, Danny Hylton.
Britt Assombalonga, Ashley Fletcher, Nathaniel Mendez-Laing, Marvin Johnson, Jordan Archer.
Murray Wallace, Ben Thompson, Matt Smith, Shane Ferguson, Frank Fielding, Shaun Williams, Billy Mitchell.
Mario Vrancic, Orjan Nyland, Alexander Tettey, Michael McGovern.
Sammy Ameobi, Yuri Ribeiro, Samba Sow, Glenn Murray, Michael Hefele, Abdoulaye Diallo, Michael Dawson.
Louis Moult, Billy Bodin, Paul Gallagher, Greg Cunningham.
Joe Lumley, Geoff Cameron, Lee Wallace, Charlie Owens, Tom Carroll.
Omar Richards, Sam Baldock, Tom McIntyre, Sone Aluko, Michael Morrison, Lewis Gibson, Dejan Tetek, Luke Southwood.
Matthew Olosunde, Clark Robertson, Billy Jones, Shaun MacDonald, Richard Wood, Josh Vickers, Jake Hull.
Adam Reach, Tom Lees, Barry Bannan, Kadeem Harris, Elias Kachunga, Joost van Aken, Jordan Rhodes, Moses Odubajo, Joey Pelupessy, Matt Penney, Osaze Urhoghide, Keiren Westwood, Alex Hunt, Ciaran Brennan, Joshua Render, Ben Hughes, Liam Waldock.
Nick Powell, James Chester, John Mikel Obi, Jordan Cousins, Blondy Nna Noukeu (club option one year).
André Ayew, Kyle Naughton, Kieron Freeman, Wayne Routledge.
Christian Kabasele, Troy Deeney, Kiko Femenía, Carlos Sánchez, Achraf Lazaar, Rob Elliot.
Curtis Thompson, Nnamdi Ofoborh, David Stockdale, Anis Mehmeti (club option one year), Darius Charles, Alex Pattison, Adebayo Akinfenwa, Curtis Anderson, Cameron Yates, James Clark, Giles Phillips, Ryan Allsop.