Hartlepool Marina 5-mile road race: Hassan Ben-Tiba wins it for New Marske Harriers

Hassan Ben-Tiba celebrates in front of the Wingfield Castle after his victory
Hassan Ben-Tiba celebrates in front of the Wingfield Castle after his victory

Teenage tornado Hassan Ben-Tiba maintained East Cleveland's domination of the Hartlepool Marina 5-mile road race with an impressive victory today.

The New Marske Harrier clocked an unofficial time of 25 minutes, 42 seconds to triumph around the seaside route, finishing in front of the Wingfield Castle near Hartlepool's Historic Quay.

Ben-Tiba commanded the race, beating team-mate Lewis Gamble-Thompson in to second with 2015 Hartlepool Marina 5-mile winner Greg Jayasuriya, from Middlesbrough & Cleveland Harriers in third.

Quakers Running Club’s Mike Joyeux, third last year, was just off the podium, finishing a close fourth.

Paul Wilson was the first Burn Road Harrier home in eighth place, in a time of 27-17, coming in ahead of younger brother, Ian.

Middlesbrough & Mandale's Jo Stone was the first female finisher with Cheryl Laycock the first Burn Road Harrier lady with a sub 35-minute time.

Ben-Tiba was following in the footsteps of a succession of New Marske stars to clinch gold in Hartlepool.

Ricky Stevenson famously had ownership of the race at the end of the noughties and the start of this decade with a string of scintillating runs and New Marske's Dominic Shaw dominated last year's race to win in a new course record.

Hartlepool's spectacular was again full to capacity with a 550-strong field, with its customary mix of the elite from North-East running and those who enjoy running the excellent Burn Road Harriers-staged event at a less hectic pace.

But all had to trail in the wake of brilliant Ben-Tiba, the 18-year-old taking a grip on the race from the 1.5 mile-mark, a grip he refused to relinquish.