Live at the Apollo star set to play Hartlepool’s Hot Potato Comedy Club

Nathan Caton
Nathan Caton

LAUGHS galore are being promised as a comedy club prepares to meet again soon.

The bill for the next gig of Hartlepool’s popular Hot Potato Comedy Club has been revealed and it includes hotly-tipped television comic Nathan Caton.

Alysson June Smith

Alysson June Smith

Nathan is well known as a star of the Live at the Apollo show.

He joins a line-up which also includes Canadian comic Allyson June Smith, promising newcomer Dom Lister, and huge Edinburgh Fringe favourite Ray Peacock, who will act as the master of ceremonies for the evening.

The latest monthly instalment of the comedy club will be held at the Town Hall Theatre in Raby Road, on Saturday, May 30.

Doors open at 7.15pm and the show starts at 8pm.

Ray Peacock

Ray Peacock

Organisers have described it as only suitable for people aged 18-plus.

Nathan has been seen on numerous television programmes including Mock the Week, Live at the Apollo and Never Mind the Buzzcocks.

Allyson has won numerous Canadian Comedy Award nominations for Best Female Comic.

She has been described as having a “sassy brand of in-your-face stand-up”.

A favourite at the Hot Potato comedy club is Ray Peacock, who has often been a television warm-up man for stars such as Frank Skinner, Graham Norton and Jonathan Ross.

Peter Vincent, of promoters Ten Feet Tall, said: “If you love Mock the Week and Live at The Apollo, then this is the perfect night for you.”

Tickets are available now for the show.

And anyone who buys on the early bird scheme, which is available up to a week before the show, can obtain tickets for £6 each.

After that, they are £9 and £8.

For tickets and more information, contact the theatre box office on (01429) 890000.

You can also get them from the Hartlepool Tourist Information Centre, in Church Square, or by buying tickets online at

Anyone wanting more laughs can get along to another meeting of the Hot Potato Comedy Club on Saturday, June 27.

It will once again be held at the Town Hall Theatre and the current line-up of acts is Jason Cook as master of ceremonies, Rob Deering, Chris Martin and Paul Imrie.