Hartlepool Mayor launches new award scheme to recognise "wonderful community spirit" during Covid pandemic

Nominations are being sought for a number of prestigious civic awards including a new scheme recognising those who have made a difference during the Covid-19 pandemic.

Tuesday, 2nd March 2021, 2:56 pm
Mayor of Hartlepool Councillor Brenda Loynes. Picture by FRANK REID
Mayor of Hartlepool Councillor Brenda Loynes. Picture by FRANK REID

The Ceremonial Mayor of Hartlepool has launched a new Mayor’s Award to recognise the brilliant work of individuals and groups who have helped others and made a big difference to people’s lives in the last year.

Councillor Brenda Loynes said she is keen to mark the “wonderful community spirit” shown in Hartlepool throughout the pandemic.

She said: “I know people have contributed in so many different ways including volunteering, helping a neighbour, donating food and going above and beyond in their jobs.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The late Alan Chapman. Picture by FRANK REID

“If you know an individual or group that has made a difference in Hartlepool during the pandemic, please nominate them for the Mayor’s Award.”

Anyone who lives, works or studies in the borough can be put forward.

To make a nomination email: [email protected] stating in under 250 words why they deserve one of the awards.

Alternatively, write to Members’ Services, Hartlepool Borough Council, Civic Centre, Hartlepool, TS24 8AY.

Freedom of the borough was granted in 2010 to former Hartlepool MP Lord Mandelson, Hartlepool Families First founder Wendy McLoughlin, Sky Sports presenter Jeff Stelling, and cancer fundraiser Isobel Wilson. Picture by Chris Armstrong.

Hartlepool Borough Council is also inviting nominations for the highest honours it can award – the titles of Honorary Freeman or Freewoman and Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman.

Previous Honorary Freeman recipients include former Hartlepool MP Lord Mandelson, TV celebrity Jeff Stelling and Hartlepool Lifeboat Station.

The late Alan Chapman, CEO of Hartlepool Aspire Trust which runs Catcote Academy, was awarded the title posthumously last year.

And in 2017, the title was awarded to Epilepsy Outlook founder Jill Kitching, Mohamed Menabawey, who set up Hartlepool hospital’s fertility unit, and Alby Pattison of medical equipment manufacturer Hart Biologicals.

The 1st Hartlepool Boys’ Brigade Company also received the title.

Councillor Loynes, who is also chair of the Civic Honours Committee, said: “There are many individuals and organisations who serve our town with pride and distinction and I am sure we will not be short of nominations.”

Nominations with supporting evidence can be submitted to Denise McGuckin, Managing Director, Hartlepool Borough Council, Civic Centre, Hartlepool, TS24 8AY, or by email to: [email protected]

They should state the person or body making the nomination, their address, and an explanation for the nomination.

The closing date for all of the awards is Monday, March 8.

Read More

Read More
North East pays tribute to 'great man' Captain Sir Tom Moore after private funer...

Support your Mail and become a subscriber today. Enjoy unlimited access to local news, the latest on Pools and new puzzles every day. With a digital subscription, you can see fewer ads, enjoy faster load times, and get access to exclusive newsletters and content. Click here to subscribe.