When are the UK bank holidays in 2020? We take a look at next year's long weekends

The final long weekend of the year is over, with the scorching temperatures on Monday, August 26 providing a happy end to 2019’s bank holidays.

Friday, 30th August 2019, 16:13 pm
Updated Monday, 2nd September 2019, 11:49 am
Are you looking towards next year's bank holidays already? Get them in the diary!

As the three-day weekend came to an end, calls were made across the country for the Government to grant additional public holidays in England and Wales - specifically between August and Christmas - to bring us in line with other European Union countries.

The Trades Union Congress (TUC) were among those leading the calls for an additional day off, believing that UK workers should get at least 12 days of public holiday.

In England and Wales there are currently eight.

These are the 2020 bank holidays:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Wednesday, January 1: New Year’s Day

Friday, April 10: Good Friday

Monday, April 13: Easter Monday

Friday, May 8: Early May bank holiday

Monday, May 25: Spring bank holiday

Monday, August 31: Summer bank holiday

Friday, December 25: Christmas Day

Monday, December 28: Boxing Day substitute