16 candidates to stand in Hartlepool by-election on May 6

The final list of 16 candidates vying to become Hartlepool’s MP at next month’s Parliamentary by-election has been confirmed.

16 candidates to stand in Hartlepool by-election on May 6, with the count held at the Mill House Leisure Centre.
16 candidates to stand in Hartlepool by-election on May 6, with the count held at the Mill House Leisure Centre.

On Thursday, May 6, people in the town will be voting for who they want to see become Hartlepool’s MP, after a by-election was triggered following the resignation of Labour’s Mike Hill last month.

Over recent weeks many candidates have stated their ambitions to be voted Hartlepool MP and announced they will be standing in the by-election.

However the deadline for submissions to stand has now passed, and the final list of candidates residents will be able to vote for on May 6 has been confirmed.

In total there are 16 candidates for the constituency. In alphabetical order, they are:

David Bettney (Social Democratic Party)

Hilton Dawson (The North East Party)

Nick ‘The Incredible Flying Brick’ Delves (The Official Monster Raving Loony Party)

Gemma Evans (Women’s Equality Party)

Rachel Sara Featherstone (The Green Party)

Adam Gaines (Independent)

Andrew Michael Hagon (Liberal Democrat)

Steve Jack (Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews.)

Chris Killick (Independent)

Sam Lee (Independent)

Claire Martin (Heritage Party)

Jill Mortimer (Conservative Party)

John Prescott (Reform UK)

Thelma Doris Walker (Northern Independence Party Independent)

Ralph Ward-Jackson (Independent)

Paul Williams (Labour Party)

The election means Hartlepool residents will be choosing an MP for the fourth time since 2015.

Mr Hill previously served the town for more than three years after winning the seat at both the 2017 and 2019 General Elections.

Council chiefs have already stressed they will have Covid precautions in place for the election, including social distancing measures and restrictions on the number of people inside polling stations and at Mill House Leisure Centre.

They added operational arrangements have not yet been finalised, and will take into account the necessary precautions in relation to Covid-19.

Council officers also confirmed for Covid-19 reasons they have had to make alterations to polling stations, including relocating those which would previously have been in care homes.

On May 6 voters will also be going to the polls for who they want to see elected to Hartlepool Borough Council in the local elections, along with voting for Cleveland Police and Crime Commissioner and their choice for Tees Valley Mayor.

The deadline to register to vote in the elections is midnight on Monday, April 19, and this can be done online at www.gov.uk/register-to-vote.

Note: Thelma Walker was previously announced as the ‘’ candidate for the election.

However they have confirmed on Twitter the party will not be registered with the Electoral Commission in time, so will be standing as a ‘Northern Independence Party Independent’ candidate.